It’s the time of year for the city council to vote for a new mayor. As covered in earlier Westlake Revelations articles, the residents elect the city council members for four year terms. The city council, in turn, once a year elects a Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem. Tonight, each of these positions were selected.

The outgoing mayor, Mark Rutherford, made a number of comments wrapping up his year as mayor thanking his family, staff, and many others for their support. Each of the council members offered, each in their own way, their appreciation for Mr. Rutherford’s service. Councilperson Klessig was absent while recovering from recent back surgery. Mr. Taylor read a note from Mrs. Klessig of her support and appreciation for Mr. Rutherford’s service.

The council elected Ned E. Davis as the new Mayor, and Susan McSweeney as the Mayor Pro Tem. This is Mayor Davis’ first term as mayor. Mayor Pro Tem McSweeney has served in this role previously. The city council elected both positions unanimously Judge Larry Mira swore in the Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem. Judge Lawrence J. Mira has honored the city in this role for the past 24 years.

For more information on the responsibility of the mayor and the selection process and history, see the prior Westlake Revelations article at: